Research

Our group employs theories (DFT, Field Theory and so on) and simulation methods (Monte Carlo, Molecular Dynamic Simulation and so on), with the help of machine learning and big data analysis to understand and engineer soft matters.

Ion transport in electrolytes/polyelectrolytes

  1. We use various methods including molecular dynamics simulations, statistical mechanics as well as quantum chemical calculations, etc. to study the thermodynamic and kinetic problems in complex systems including ionic liquids and concentrated electrolyte solutions. Hope to provide new ideas for the design and optimization of new-type ionic batteries.

  2. Polymerized ionic liquids (PILs) possess parts of the physical and chemical properties of both ionic liquid and polymers. Compared with ionic liquids, the processability, impermeability and mechanical stability of PILs are better. Moreover, the charged monomers on the backbone are tunable. Therefore, PILs are regarded as potential polymer electrolytes. We utilize theoretical methods and molecular dynamics simulations to study the thermodynamic and kinetic problems in the PIL systems, and grasp the transportation mechanisms of counterions in the system to guide the design and preparation of high-performance polymeric electrolytes.

Thermodynamics and dynamics of complex fluids near/on interfaces

As an important component of soft matter systems, (poly)electrolytes are ubiquitous in nature. Systematic studies of the thermodynamic and dynamic problems of (poly)electrolytes near/on interfaces are of great significance for understanding the interaction mechanisms between biomacromolecules and surfaces of cell membranes/organelles, and guiding the design and preparation of high-performance polymer adhesives and dispersants.

  1. Interfacial properties of sequence-defined polymer systems. Sequence-defined polymer refers to the monodisperse macromolecule composed of different physical and chemical properties monomers arranged precisely in a specified order. For example, nucleic acid (DNA/RNA) which are sequential precise polymers composed of four nucleotides (A, T, G, C) are the important component of life. Recently, our team focuses on the systematic research on the thermodynamic and dynamic properties of sequence-defined polymer interface systems, using theoretical and molecular simulation methods.

  2. Properties of dielectric inhomogenous interface systems. The image charge effect as a result of dielectric inhomogeneity has a significant effect on the adsorption of polyelectrolytes at interfaces. For examples, in an aqueous solution, polyelectrolytes or other charged particles are subjected to repulsive forces of image charges near biofilms (whose dielectric constant is much lower than that of aqueous solutions),  and are attracted by image charges near metal substrates (whose dielectric constant is much larger than that of aqueous solutions) instead.

  3. The influence of charge regulation on polyelectrolytes systems. Charge regulation is a common feature in charged systems (especially in biological systems), including pH response, charge redistribution, etc. One of the main tasks of our team is to develop theories and computer simulation methods, to consider the charge regulation and study its effect on the phase and interfacial properties of polyelectrolytes.

研究领域

我们团队发展和运用理论(密度泛函理论、场论等)和计算机模拟(Monte Carlo模拟、全原子分子动力学模拟等)方法(结合机器学习以及大数据分析),理解/解决软物质界面体系中的科学问题。例如,带电体系(包括电解质、聚电解质、序列可控聚电解质、离子液体等)的热力学、动力学以及结构性质等;离子液体/聚离子液体体系中反离子的传输问题;单链高分子/多链高分子在界面的吸附、相变性质;胶体粒子在电解质/聚电解质溶液中的稳定性问题等。

离子液体/聚离子液体中的离子传输问题

    1. 离子液体中热力学和动力学问题研究。运用分子动力学、统计力学和量化计算等多种手段,研究离子液体、高浓度电解质溶液等复杂体系中存在的热力学、动力学等基础科学问题,为设计和优化新型离子电池提供新的思路和方法。
    2. 聚离子液体中热力学和动力学问题研究。聚离子液体同时具备离子液体和高分子的物理化学性质。与离子液体相比,聚离子液体可加工性、防渗透性和机械稳定性等都得到改善,且其带电单体部分具有可调性,因而被视作有潜力的聚合物电解液。我们团队希望通过运用分子动力学模拟以及理论方法研究聚离子液体体系中的热力学和动力学问题,掌握该体系中反离子的传输机制,以期实现对聚合物电解液性能的优化。

带电体系界面热力学与动力学问题

电解质/聚电解质普遍存在于现实世界中,是软物质体系中重要的组成部分。针对电解质/聚电解质界面体系中的热力学、动力学问题开展系统性研究,对理解生物大分子与细胞膜、细胞器表面的相互作用机理、指导高性能高分子胶黏剂、分散剂等的设计与制备有重要意义。
    1. 序列精确高分子体系界面性质的研究。序列精确高分子(sequence-defined polymer)是指由不同物化性质的单体按照指定次序精确排列而成的单分散大分子。序列精确高分子是一类常见且重要的分子。例如,核酸(DNA 和 RNA )是生命体重要的组成物质, 其为四种核苷酸(A、T、G、C)组成的序列精确高分子。近年来,我们团队聚焦于序列精确高分子界面体系的热力学和动力学问题,采用理论和分子模拟方法,开展系统性的研究。
    2. 介电非均匀界面体系性质的研究。因介电非均匀而产生的镜像电荷效应,对聚电解质在界面处的吸附等性质有重要影响。例如,水溶液中,聚电解质或其他带电粒子在生物膜(介电常数小于水溶液)附近会受到镜像电荷排斥力作用,而在金属基底(介电常数远大于水溶液)附近会受到镜像电荷吸引力作用。如何正确考虑介电非均匀性,并研究其对聚电解质/电解质界面性质的影响,是我们团队的主要课题方向之一。
    3. 电荷自调控性(charge regulation)对聚电解质体系性质的影响研究。电荷自调控性是带电体系(特别是生物体系)中常见特征,包括pH值响应、电荷重分布等。发展理论和计算机模拟方法,正确考虑电荷自调控性,研究其对聚电解质体相和界面性质的影响,是我们团队主要任务之一。